New instance of dialogue with the Ministers of Women in Latin America and the Caribbean

admin   febrero 9, 2021   Comentarios desactivados en New instance of dialogue with the Ministers of Women in Latin America and the Caribbean

Ministras tw

On Thursday, February 11, 2021, a new instance of dialogue will be held with the Ministers of Women of Latin America and the Caribbean. Ministers and officials from various countries will participate, as also well-known feminists from the region. María Noel Vaeza, Regional Director of UN Women for the Americas and the Caribbean, and Alejandra Mora Mora, Executive Secretary of the Inter-American Commission of Women, Organization of American States (CIM OAS) will participate, too. 

The central topic of this conversation will be “Political participation of women and feminists in Latin America and the Caribbean”, which corresponds to the theme of the 65th meeting of the Commission on the Status of Women (CSW) that will meet at the United Nations headquarters in New York in mid-March. 

The participation of the diversity of women at decision-making levels and especially at the political level is essential to promote gender equality and advance in the enactment of laws and programs to achieve the agenda of Beijing and the Generation Equality Forums. This political participation is not exempt from the violence that is exerted on women in all areas and the forms they take are very diverse, as we are seeing in the last electoral processes that have taken place in several countries in the region and those in progress. 

The event schedule will be: 

2 pm Mexico 

3 pm Panama 

5 pm Buenos Aires 

The event will be transmitted by zoom, for which prior online registration is required at the following link: http://bitly.ws/bDRL 

It can also be viewed on Facebook Live, on the CoNGO LAC site http://bit.ly/39PqVKa

SPANISH